top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Wise and Otherwise

Bet you can guess which one I am in this companionship !!


Made brownies for breakfast yesterday, felt so American and in control of my life. Also felt really American when people kept sending me election memes in the middle of the night? Like, random potentials from past areas that I haven't talked to since June?? Well, as the cool kids say, I'm proud to be an American. So as the Scots say, nae bother. 


It was a good week, so it was! Let's get down to the nitty gritty: THE BAPTISMAL INVITES.


1. On exchanges with Sister Tonon, we tried inviting our friend Jaime to be baptized! But alas, he doesn't speak very good English and so we were teaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ in half Spanish and half English. We spoke about baptismo for 15 minutes (I am not making this up) and it wasn't until minute 16 of this conversation that was getting us nowhere did we realize that he thought we were saying El Machismo, not baptismo. To spare you a trip to Google Translate, that means sexism. He thought two young girls were trying to convert him to toxic masculinity. Needless to say, he didn't accept. 


2. WILSON!!!!!! I've mentioned this kid before, but OH my friends I'm so happy for him. Wilson is our friend that we kept running into over and over again on the streets outside our flat. We had no idea why, but we felt such a strong urge to stop him that we started praying to see him again when we left the flat! 5 minutes before the first session of general conference, WE RAN INTO HIM! We started "teaching" him via text in messenger, and eventually realized he lives across the hall from us and began teaching him in the 2nd floor stairwell. In the very stairwell where we first bore testimony to him that we knew God wanted us to talk to him because we had a very special message to share with him, he accepted a baptismal date! In his words (and I quote) "I think this whole thing was a sign that I'm supposed to give up all my dreams and follow Christ for the rest of my life. Is there a way to do that in your church." 


As a matter of fact YES there is! And it just so happens that you don't even need to give up your dreams to do them! In fact, through baptism God can help you make your wildest dreams come true! Aaaaaand he accepted wholeheartedly! He loves coming to church on zoom! So do we! 


3. I've mentioned it before and I'll mention it agian, God has been SO MERCIFUL in giving me opportunities to use the things I love to share the gospel. Most recently I've been reaching out to people in the tech industry here in Dublin and asking them how that's going in the pandemic, and transitioning into why I left the industry myself for 1.5 years! Joao does IT support here in Dublin and is a freelancer! He was so excited when I mentioned I love sharing a message about families that he started messaging me first all the time and telling me when he was going to be free! We've been teaching him and his wife Grazy for a few weeks now, and last time our friend Guivemar, a recent convert joined us and they said they want to be baptized on December 15th -- exactly 1 year after Guivemar was baptized! Please pray that baptisms are legal by then and that I'm stll here to see it! haha. Brothers and Sisters I cannot even begin to express how important members are in this work! We do it all for you, you realize, don't you? So help an sister (or an elder out) and teach with us! I just love the members of this church. 


There's a promise in Preach My Gospel that "Members who share the gospel experience joy and have the Spirit of the Lord more abundantly. As we share the gospel, we appreciate how precious and meaningful it is to us, and we feel a greater love for God and others." 


That's a promise! And we all know God ALWAYS keeps his promises!


Speaking of members (love you) the members here are just rays of sunshine in our lives. Stacie crocheted us a giraffe (Sister Yate's favourite animal) and....A NARWHAL. Almost cried. I named her Faith, after Sister Faith Yates and she named her giraffe Bailee. I know I know...we're so cute and you want to come trio with us. Your'e honestly welcome to if you can make it to Ireland! 


Anywho...I told my mom I'd call her at 5pm and it's already 5:01 so that's my que...love you!

Thank you for your prayers! Please keep them coming, especially for all the people I wrote about this week! 


Otherwise,

Sister Allen

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page